Our History


The Association of Adventist Women (AAW) was begun as a committee of the Association of Adventist Forums (AAF) and grew into an independent, volunteer organization with its own identity. Incorporated in 1982 as an independent, not-for-profit entity, it has become a major source of encouragement for Adventist women both in North America and internationally.


The AAW has provided news of Adventist women found in no other Adventist publications, honored many women for their gifts and accomplishments through their Woman-of-the-Year Awards (WOYA), provided a stimulating annual conference, called attention to church leaders who promote church gender equality, and made bold recommendations for changes in the church to promote full use of members’ gifts.

AAW Presidents

Josephine Griffin Benton
Betty Hogan Howard
June 1982-Nov 1986
Nancy Eastman Marter
Nov 1986-June 1990
Peggy Curtice Harris
June 1990-Oct 1992
Elisabeth Appleton Wear
Oct 1992-Oct 1994
Nancy Eastman Marter
Oct 1994-Dec 1995
Betty Hogan Howard
Jan 1995-Nov 1996
Alyce Thornton Kiesecker Pudewell
Nov 1996-Oct 1999
Georgia Willey Hodgkin
Oct 1999-Jan 2001
Patricia Clark Foster
Jan 2001-Jan 2004
Verla Michel Kwiram
Jan 2004-Oct 2008
Patricia Pearson Johnston
Oct 2008-June 2010
Linda Wright Wysong Becker
June 2010-Oct 2012
Lourdes Morales-Gudmundsson
Oct 2012-2019
Whitny Braun
Nerida Taylor Bates
Show More

PO Box 1700
Loma Linda, CA 92354


© 2018 The Association of Adventist Women is an independent organization supporting, but not affiliated with, the General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists®, its churches and organizations. Opinions expressed are solely those of the Association of Adventist Women.